Get Connected with Washington County DBD

Funkstown

The antique capital of the county

Funkstown is a growing, vibrant residential community of about 900.  Historic homes and several antique and specialty shops add to the town’s historic allure. Each year an Old Tyme Christmas Open House is held on the first Friday evening in December.  Carriage rides are available, residents decorate with luminaries, and downtown shops stay open. Entertainment and refreshments are provided in Town Hall.  An Old Tyme Picnic is held each June in the park. Families bring covered dishes and local businesses and organizations provide chicken, hot dogs, hamburgers, drinks, ice cream and prizes for games.       

History:

Founded in 1767 by Jacob Funck and situated east of Hagerstown near the Antietam Creek, the town was originally named Jerusalem until it was incorporated in 1840 as Funkstown. In 1823 the Old National Pike was built through Funkstown, making it a popular stop along the pike. The town bustled with inns, taverns, wagon yards, mills, a brickyard, powder factory and iron furnace. Two sturdy bridges were constructed across Antietam Creek in the 1800s; the bridges have since been refurbished and are still in use today. A huge waterwheel on Antietam Creek furnished power.  Electric Park, a recreational area located near Antietam Creek, included a carousel, dancing pavilion, boat rides and other amusements; the park was reached by a swinging bridge across Antietam Creek.

 

 

 

100 W Washington St., Suite 1401
Hagerstown, MD 21740
Driving Directions

phone240-313-2280
fax240-313-2281
emailedcinfo@washco-md.net

Fill out our contact form